IND vs AFG: The excitement in the cricketing world reached a fever pitch as India and Afghanistan locked horns in the 9th match of the World Cup 2023. This thrilling clash, held at the iconic Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi on 11th October, promised an electrifying battle between bat and ball.

As the teams gathered on the field, Afghanistan’s captain, Hashmatullah Shahidi, had a pivotal decision to make – to bat or to bowl first. Opting for the former, Afghanistan won the toss and chose to set the target for the formidable Indian side. The decision to bat first on a pitch that was full of runs and uncertainties set the stage for an intriguing contest.

IND vs AFG: Afghanistan, staying true to their winning combination from previous matches, decided not to make any changes in their playing XI. They placed their trust in the lineup that had served them well in the tournament so far.

Team India, on the other hand, had a surprise in store. The Indian team management made a significant change by including Shardul Thakur in the playing XI, replacing the seasoned spinner, R Ashwin. This strategic decision reflected the team’s intent to strengthen their pace attack and adapt to the conditions in Delhi.


The playing XI for both teams looked as follows:

Team India:

Rohit Sharma (Captain)
Ishan Kishan
Virat Kohli
Shreyas Iyer
KL Rahul
Hardik Pandya
Ravindra Jadeja
Shardul Thakur
Jasprit Bumrah
Kuldeep Yadav
Mohammed Siraj


Rahmanullah Gurbaz (Wicket-Keeper)
Ibrahim Zadran
Rahmat Shah
Hashmatullah Shahidi (Captain)
Mohammad Nabi
Najibullah Zadran
Azmatullah Omarzai
Rashid Khan
Naveen Ul-Haq
Mujeeb Ur Rehman
Fazalhaq Farooqui

IND vs AFG: With India’s powerhouse batting lineup and Afghanistan’s world-class spin attack led by Rashid Khan, this encounter promised to be a thrilling spectacle. Cricket enthusiasts from around the globe eagerly awaited the outcome of this high-stakes match in the ICC World Cup 2023, where every ball bowled and every stroke played carried the weight of national pride and cricketing glory.

Image Credit – tv9marathi